Tags

, , , ,

This is the Marmion Abbey Church in Aurora, a suburb of Chicago. I purposely went there to attend the conventual noon mass of the Black Benedictines. I had expected a Latin mass but was told that Latin masses are held only on two occasions by the Arch Abbott of the Order of Saint Benedict in Germany. I was lucky however to have met the Abbott himself who was kind enough to have let me take a tour of the church before and after the mass. I lost many photos, including those of the spectacular lamps in the interiors and the belfry.

Attending the mass here is a heavenly experience. With the hundred or so Black Benedictines in the front rows and away from the rough and tumble of the big city, the mass was very solemn and made even more solemn by the divine voices of the brothers singing the most holy and solemn of mass hymns.

