Tags

, ,

A seventy eight year old lady came to the office yesterday complaining of knee joint pain. I gathered she’s an intelligent patient because already she had with her  X-ray films of her knee joints.

She complained in particular about the massively deformed, swollen and tender right knee.

After a thorough examination I made a diagnosis of Osteoarthritis and explained that this condition is degenerative and that by degenerative I mean age related changes and that because…

She interrupted me as I was talking

‘Did you say age has something to do with this?’

‘Yes Ma’am!’ I replied.

She rolled her eyes unconvinced and said ‘How come my left knee is perfectly all right? It’s the same age as my right!’

I was floored. But I had the answers.

What would your answer be?

